Lords of Vegas
Lords of Vegas

FAQ for Lords of Vegas - 2nd Edition

During a 2-player game, what happens if one of my starting cards is from the F block?

Draw-and-replace until both of your cards are non-F-block cards. Place the F cards on the display with no other effect.


What happens if I draw a card for a plot that I already have a die on (because of a sprawl action)?

Nothing happens. (You managed to track down and buy the deed before anyone noticed!)


There are five extra casino tiles, colored but without background art. What are they for?

There are 9 tiles within each casino group. These "blank" tiles are extra tiles on the tile sheet. They are not used.


The rules state that you may trade actions, but it also says that you must take actions on your turn. How do these reconcile?

You may trade an action that you will take on your turn for something else. For example, you could accept $10 million to do a remodel action on a casino you own.


If I reorganize a small casino that, during the same turn, becomes part of a larger casino, may I reroll the entire larger casino?

Each die may only be reorganized once per turn. Since all dice in a casino must be rerolled during a reorganization action, if any dice in the casino have already been reorganized on the turn, the entire casino may not be reorganized on that turn.


Does the player who draws the "Game Over" card get their turn?

No. Score and pay out for the Strip casinos and parking lots, and the game immediately ends.


Which parking lots pay on a player's turn?

Each parking lot pays the player who owns it on every player's turn.


How do adjacent casino tiles join to become a larger casino?

Casino tiles join if they are the same color and share a common edge. Casinos do not join across the streets.


Can I roll whichever dice I choose in a reorganization?

All the dice in a casino must be rolled (and paid for) in a reorganization. You cannot decide to roll some dice and not others.


After a reorganization, who determines which dice go back in what tiles?

Each die owner decides where that die goes. Dice must go back into squares where that color die came from, but the order of placement is up to the owner of the dice. You may not put a die into a square which did not contain a die before.


In what order may I take my actions?

In any order you like, with as many of each action as you like (except for limited actions like reorganize and gambling). Note: The rules say, "You may do the following on your turn in order to manage your properties." The words "in order" are not meant to imply a sequence.


When a card says to score the Strip, do I score just the tiles that touch Las Vegas Boulevard, or all the tiles in any casino that touches Las Vegas Boulevard?

All the tiles. You never score a casino's individual tiles; always score entire casinos.


What happens if two players are tied for being the boss of a casino?

Those two (or more) matching dice roll off immediately. If one player has the single highest die (or multiple dice of that value), that player is immediately declared the boss. If a player loses control of a casino during his turn, he cannot do management actions on that casino that require being the boss of the casino.


Does a roll-off for management control of a casino count as an individual die's reorganization roll for the turn?

No. A roll-off is not reorganization. The active player can still choose to reorganize that die, if no other dice in the casino have been reorganized that turn.


If I move a die out of a casino because I am out of dice, does that change the size of the casino?

No. If it was a six-point casino before, it's still a 6-point casino.


Errata - Laying Off Bets

The example of laying off half a bet has the rules "The Red Player is the boss of a 3-tile Casino. On Yellow's turn, he goes to Red's Casino and wagers $4 (maximum is $15). Yellow decides not to lay off half the bet." That should say "Red decides not to lay off half the bet."


What happens if a player lays off a bet that they have insufficient money to cover?

When the bank covers a bet, they are covering a specific amount: half the bet. The bank is only responsible for the half of the bet that they have assumed, NOT to pay out for any risk the house has taken on. SO: Player A bets $40 million at Player B's casino. Player B has $8 million. He lays off. He is now responsible for $20 million of the bet, and the bank is responsible for $20 million of the bet. - If a 2 is rolled, Player A receives $8 from Player B and $40 from the bank (double each of their shares, and Player B only paying what he can). - If a 7 is rolled, Player A pays $20 million to Player B, and $20 million to the bank. - If a 9 is rolled, Player A receives $8 million from Player B and $20 million from the bank.


What limits gambling?

There are two limiting factors: - You may only bet up to $5 million per block in the largest casino where the target player is the boss. - You cannot bet more money than you have. (Earlier FAQs described the condition that you were limited by the on-hand money of the target player. It does limit payout, as you may only receive the cash the target has if you make a bet larger than the casino owner's on-hand cash, but you will lose your entire bet to the target if you lose.)


Mayfair Newsletter Catan Newsletter Facebook Google+ Twitter Watch Unblocked Games Catanism Subscribe Pinterest

©2014 Mayfair Games, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

ASTRA TIA NSSEA GAMA BBB