Rise of Empires
Rise of Empires

FAQ for Rise of Empires

Errata - Player Aid

There are three errors on the player aid: - There are two Iron Weapons tiles in Era I. - The Fertilizers tile in Era III provides 4 food as shown on the tile, not 3 food as described on the player aid (see the illustration). - The first bullet under “2. Player Actions” should read: “Take progress tile (no exact duplicates from the same Era; +1/+2 gold for tiles from a previous ERA)” There are two different wordings for victory point determination used for the Ideology and Religion tiles. Both score at the same time, during end-of-turn scoring (9.0).


Are player cubes limited?

Yes. If you are out of player cubes, you cannot perform actions requiring player cubes (during the “A” turns).


Am I supposed to run out of tiles during Era III in a 2- or 3-player game?

Yes; this is intentional. Note that you also discard unclaimed progress, city and territory tiles at the end of each turn for 2 or 3 players (except those with a red stripe at the bottom)!


May I place or remove a disc without taking its associated action?

During “B” turns, you may remove an action disc without taking its action. You must still pay the costs for any discs to the left of your disc. During an “A” turn, you may only take actions that you can pay for or perform the action. EXCEPTION: in a 5-player game, it is possible (though highly unlikely) that players may be unable to perform an action (for example, the technology, empire and terrain actions have all been taken, and two players remain with actions, and they are unable to pay for a trade action or city tile). In this case only, you may place your disc on the remaining tracks, without performing the action.


When paying for removing a disc to the left of other discs, may I use a mix of gold, cubes, food and/or victory points to pay the cost?

Yes. You may use any mix of items, all at a value of 1, to pay for discs to your left.


The rules state “you must wait until the other players have taken at least one action each.” Do you have to track actions across the end of an Era in order to fulfill this?

No. The intent of the statement was that you cannot use a tile’s action until your next action opportunity, but it would be available with that next action. If you took a tile with the last action in an “A” turn, and were to go first in the subsequent “B” turn, you could use the tile, even though no other action intervened between the two actions.


The rules state that you must have at least one opponent action between taking a progress tile and using it. Wonder tiles (those with a red border) say that they benefit immediately. Contradictory?

You always take the benefit of a wonder tile immediately upon receiving it. You do not wait one action. Wonder tiles are an explicit exception to the “wait” rule.


Why are there exclamation marks on the “one-use” progress tiles?

These tiles give their benefit to the owner immediately (you do not wait until your next action), and then the tile is removed from the game. You cannot delay the effects of the tile (for example, taking Navigation immediately opens up the New World and the Far East).


You are not allowed to have two of the same Progress tile. May I claim a one-use tile (for example, Navigation), and then claim a second Navigation tile?

Yes. The duplicates rule does not apply to one-use tiles such as Mercenaries and Medicine.


If I have the Printing tile, may I remove any action disc on a track, even if there is another disc further to its left?

Yes. You may remove your action discs in any order.


Does Navigation open up China during Era II?

No. China does not become available for play until Era III. Only India is available in the Far East during Era II.


May I use Mercenaries to place cubes in the New World or the Far East before the Navigation tile is played?

No. These areas (and, in fact, any region limited by Era) are not available in the game until the Navigation tile is played (or the appropriate Era). Once Navigation is played, you may use a Mercenaries tile to place into a non-European region, if allowed by the Era (note China does not open until Era III).


May I split an action (do part of an action, then take another action, then complete the first action)?

No. You must complete an action before beginning another action.


Can you clarify Empire tile play?

Here’s a step-by-step guide to what is allowed by Empire tile play: - First Empire tile play: You may place cubes in any one region allowed by the current Era (“first region”), plus adjacent regions to the first region up to the value shown on the Empire tile. - Subsequent tile play: You may place cubes in any region with your cubes in it, or any regions adjacent to these regions. You may place in several non-contiguous regions that meet the above requirement. Any region without cubes and not adjacent to a region with your cubes at the beginning of your Empire tile action cannot receive cubes this turn (unless a tile like Mercenaries allows it). - Water tiles: If the Empire tile has the water symbol, you may play into the Mediterranean Sea. You may also choose either the New World or Far East to expand to (as allowed by Navigation/Era), in addition to any plays in the Old World. You may only expand to one of the two areas (see 6.4.4), but you may expand to BOTH regions within an area if the tile’s value allows it. So, for example, you could play a 3-value water Empire tile, placing cubes in one European territory (or the Mediterranean), and in both North and South America. You could NOT place in Europe, North America and China with this action. (There is a way to play in all three areas; see below.) Other notes: - North America and South America are considered to NOT be accessible to each other by land. You cannot use an Empire tile (non-water) to expand from one Americas region to another; you must use a water Empire tile to do so. (Note the “X” on the board between the two regions.) - China and India ARE linked by land, and you may expand from one to the other using ANY Empire tile. (You could play a 4-value Empire tile to reinforce a European region, play cubes in an adjacent region in Europe, reinforce cubes in North America, and place cubes in India (assuming you already have cubes in China to allow land expansion).


May I reinforce a region in the New World or Far Asia without a water Empire tile?

Yes. You may use ANY Empire tile to place cubes in a region where you already have cubes.


I have cubes in the Mediterranean. May I use a land tile to expand into a land region adjacent to the Mediterranean?

Yes. You do not need a water tile to play into an adjacent land region, even if what it is adjacent to is the Mediterranean.


May I initiate a battle in a region where I have less cubes than I am supposed to lose?

No. You must lose all tokens required to initiate the battle. (Of course, you may attack a region where the defender has less cubes than he is required to lose; the defender loses only those cubes that are in the region.)


The rules talk about “one or more battles.” May I attack more than once with the same Empire tile?

The only way to attack more than once in the same action is by using an Empire tile that specifically allows 2 battles during Era III only. Otherwise, you may only attack once with an Empire tile.


Does my Iron Weapons tile work when I am the defender?

No. Tiles that give you a “free action” may only be used during one of your own actions.


My city tiles will cause my food to be reduced below zero. May I discard city tiles before calculating my food gain/loss?

No. You must keep all city tiles you have claimed through this phase, losing one victory point for each point of food you do not have. During the Income phase (8.0), you may decide whether or not to pay the upkeep for a city, discarding it if you do not pay for it. During the Victory Points phase (9.0), you score victory points for your cities. The only time you may voluntarily discard city tiles is during the Income phase (although you also lose them if you cannot, or choose not to, pay for a city at the end of an era).


Is it possible to run out of resources?

Yes. Income is distributed in player order, giving each player full income until the supply runs out. Before starting the income phase, clear the trading area so that any resources that have been used for trading are returned to the supply BEFORE income is awarded. (If resources are being hoarded, turn order becomes even more important!)


It is the income phase before the end of an Era, and I am supposed to collect player cubes. I have none, but I will be removing cubes during the end-of-Era maintenance. May I claim those cubes now?

No. Income happens completely, before the end-of-Era maintenance occurs.


Where do cubes removed from the board go (during (Ending an Era," 11.0)?

They return to the general stock (not your pool).


Mayfair Newsletter Catan Newsletter Facebook Google+ Twitter Watch Unblocked Games Catanism Subscribe Pinterest

©2014 Mayfair Games, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

ASTRA TIA NSSEA GAMA BBB