FAQ for one Certain Game

A red cube is in a red city. May I move that cube along track to deliver it back to the city it came from?

No. You must deliver a cube to a different city than its origin.

Refers to Game:
Am I limited by the track and track ownership markers that I have?

The intent of the designer is that track and ownership markers are not limiting elements to the game; in practice, you may run out of ownership tokens and/or track. You are limited to the track tiles in your set, but expansions and other releases may include additional track; these can be added freely to any game of Steam using the original rules. Alternate markers may be used (additional player pieces, other markers) to denote ownership of track as needed.

Refers to Game:
An unowned incomplete link stops just outside a town. If I place a New City tile on that town, so that the link is now completed, do I own it?

Yes. You have “extended” the track to a city, so the track is yours. If another player owned the incomplete link, the link is completed for them.

Refers to Game:
Are page 7's “You are not allowed to build track that extends another player’s track” and page 9's “You will own any pieces of track leading from the town unless already connected" contradictory?

No. Page 7 is talking about track building in general. Page 9 is referring to town hexes, and is specifically referring to replacing a town hex where one or more players may ALREADY have links. You are required to maintain their tracks when replacing the town tile, but any new track spurs you build are yours. You are not “extending” their track; you are maintaining track they already own.

Refers to Game:
Are there special rules for the pale purple-bordered waterways (for example, between Maastricht and Venlo on the Ruhr map)?

Purple-bordered waterways are canals. As noted on page 9, these are identical to rivers.

Refers to Game:
Do I have to pay cash for a loco upgrade during the Move Goods phase?

No. This upgrade is free (with the loss of one of your two goods deliveries this turn).

Refers to Game:
Do the Urbanize and City Growth actions in Standard Steam have Pass Options?

Yes. You may choose, during your build track phase, not to take those actions. (In Base Steam, you must declare immediately when you obtain the action tile whether you are exercising the Pass Option.)

Refers to Game:
Does a New City have to connect to my track when I place it?

No. You may replace any town on the board with a New City tile, whether you (or any player) has track to it or not.

Refers to Game:
Does the Turn Order action offer any benefit during the current turn?

Usually, no. This action means that you will choose action tiles first during the NEXT turn. However, this tile is also the best tile for the second tiebreaker at the end of the game (page 13).

Refers to Game:
I must extend incomplete links that I own on the next turn in order to keep them. If I have more than one incomplete link, may I extend them all, even if they do not become complete on the next turn?

Yes. As long as each link is extended by at least one track piece each turn, you do not lose ownership of any of your incomplete links.

Refers to Game:

Pages