FAQ for one Certain Game

Do I have to pay coins to the bank if I trace my starting path back to a circle with coins on it, or do I only pay if I start on one of those spaces?

When you place the ship, you must be able to trace an unbroken white line to one of the board edges. If there is more than one available path, then you get to choose which path you want to follow (basically, imagine it this way: You board a ship somewhere in the "old world" and sail it towards the "unexplored territory." At some point during your voyage, you reach the "map" that the board represents. From that point you still have to sail towards the part of the map that hasn't been explored yet). If the white path you choose to follow leads to a board edge circle with coins on it, you must pay that cost in order to start the voyage.

Refers to Game:
If I build a fort or a settlement on an island, and another player starts his expedition on that tile, does he have to pay me the 2 coins? Or does he only pay if he traces a path THROUGH the tile?

If you choose to place the ship on a starting tile that has an opponent's settlement or fort on it, then you must pay the "toll" to that player. You also have to pay the toll if the white path you followed to the edge of the board passes by his fort or settlement. If you do not place the ship on such a path at the beginning of your turn, then you don't have to pay the toll. It is important to remember that it does not matter where the ship ends the turn. All that matters is where it begins the turn. In fact, the ship is technically removed at the end of each turn, before the next player begins.

Refers to Game:
If I remove a scout from a jungle path to play on the map, what happens to the space he was in? Does that space remain open? Do the other scouts in the path move to fill the space?

If you remove a scout from a jungle path, it creates an open space. Any player can (through the normal course of play) choose to place a scout in that open space. Other scouts on that jungle path are not affected. They remain in the space that they were in before. Removing a scout may make a "gap" in a jungle path. That's fine. It has no effect. When another scout is added to that path, it will fill the hole (because you must always place your scout on the empty space CLOSEST to the native hut).

Refers to Game:
If I remove a scout from a space with the “eye” or the “dot,” what happens if another scout is placed on one of those spaces?

If the vacated space is an eye space, and another scout is added to that space, then the new scout would get the chance to glance at the token in the hut. If the vacated space is a dot space, then the new scout would not get any benefit, because there can only be one token in each hut.

Refers to Game:
Near game’s end, we often find that there are a few spaces that haven’t been explored, but they are very hard to get to. Should we just fill these in, or do we have to draw the right kind of tile?

If a space is completely surrounded on all four sides, you should fill it with a tile from the open stacks. Similarly, if a series of spaces are completely surrounded by land, then those spaces are filled from the open stacks as well. If there is an unexplored area covering more than one space that has water access on at least one side, you will have to explore those spaces because there will be at least two possible tiles for each space. Sometimes it will be very difficult to draw a legally playable tile to fill those hard to reach areas. Buying an “open” tile can save you a lot of time and effort, and maybe even money!

Refers to Game:
The rules say that when you run out of scouts, you can still place one by removing a scout from another tile or one of the jungle paths. May I remove any scout I want from a jungle path?

When you have no scouts in your supply, and you want to purchase one to place on a newly discovered tile, then you may choose to remove any of your scouts already on the board. You can choose to remove any scout that is already on a tile in the map section of the board, or you can remove a scout from any jungle path. You may choose any scout from the path; you are not limited to taking only the "first" or "last" scout on the path. You choose which scout to take.

Refers to Game:
What happens if there are no more tiles to file in a surrounded space? I mean no tiles left in the open stack, the closed stack, or the discarded tiles?

The solution here is to "pretend" that there is a correct tile for that space. This, of course, only applies when there is exactly one correct type of tile for the space, and it is completely surrounded, and no appropriate tile can be found. Since this will probably end up being the last tile for the game, you can just imagine the correct coastline for purposes of scoring the last island. Alternatively, for scoring purposes ONLY, you could take a tile from another island scored earlier in the game, and use it to help count the score of the final island.

Refers to Game:
What happens if you place a tile, and the only way to move the ship is off the board? Do you lose any other tiles you have purchased for that turn? Can you still place a scout or fort on the tile?

Anytime your explorations lead you to a "dead end" because all four sides of the tile the ship is on are either already explored or an edge of the board, then you lose any other tiles you have paid for. You do not get to draw them from the stacks; your exploration for the turn has to stop there.

Now, if there is land on the tile that ship moved onto, you can always place a unit there (scout, etc.), even if your further exploration is cut off. The only times you are prevented from placing a unit are:
- if the last tile you successfully played has no land on it.
- if the last tile you successfully played has a "storms" symbol on it.
- if you were unable to successfully play any tiles at all, and the ship has not left your "starting space."

Refers to Game:
When I place a scout in the jungle, do I have to fill the first space of all the jungle paths before I can add scouts to a path that already has scouts on it?

When you place a scout in a Jungle Path, you may choose any of the seven paths to put him in, as long as the path you choose has at least one empty space left. This way you can try to protect valuable fruit tokens that you have already discovered.

Refers to Game:
When I place my ship on an already explored tile, can I trace any path back to a board edge, or do I have to use the shortest path? Is it legal to go "the long way" to avoid paying an opponent?

Yes, it is legal. When you launch your expedition at the beginning of your turn, you may choose ANY route that connects your starting tile to a board edge. It does not matter how long or twisted that route is. If the route you choose avoids any fees (for starting from a "coin" space or passing an opposing fort, for example) then you don't have to pay.

Refers to Game: