FAQ for one Certain Game

What happens if two school ingredients are tied for least remaining? How many points does each player receive?

Both tied players receive the full points for that rank. Continue scoring for the next rank, also at full value.
Consider an example:
There are 6 blue, 5, yellow, 5 orange, and 4 green pieces left in the supply in a four player game. The player with the green card receives the first place reward (12 points). The players with the yellow and orange cards are both tied for second, so they each receive the second place reward (8 points). The holder of the blue card is in third place, so he gets the third place reward (4 points).

Refers to Game:
If a player has cast all of his spells and is about to win the game, can I play a “Snap Out of It” spell to prevent him from winning?

Unfortunately for you (but fortunately for the game winner), you can only play “Snap Out of It” during your turn. You can’t cast it on someone who just won the game, because the game is over!
Generally, the game ends as soon as someone casts their last spell. There are, however, a few spells that can snatch victory away at the last second, but “Snap Out of It” isn’t one of them. You can use: “Sorry Charlie!” “Mirror,” “Illusion,” “Take THAT!” “Backfire,” “White Rabbit,” or “Blotter.” Of course, some of those spells can only cancel the EFFECT of the last spell he cast, but not the actual casting itself. Depending on the winning spell being cast, this might be enough to prevent victory. You’ll have to consider each one on a case-by-case basis.

If I play a “Vault” to protect my finds, what happens if another player uses a “Tinker Bell?” Are my finds still safe?

Unfortunately, not even the “Vault” is safe from the might of the “Tinker Bell.” The Vault cannot protect itself. As a magic item, it can be cancelled by the Tinker Bell, because the bell can cancel the effect of any item. So, the Tinker Bell cancels the Vault, and your finds are most definitely no longer safe.

The “Comforter” says “This object immediately.” When I play it against another player, can my victim play a counter card against it? The card also says “nor can he cast any spell.”

The comforter is so nice and comfy, I don’t know why you would want to avoid the affect, but it is possible. You can play any “magic object” that protects you (like the invisibility cloak or magic shield) to avoid taking your well-deserved nap. These items take effect before the comforter can put you to sleep. Once you are sleeping, however, there is nothing you can do to wake up early.

When, exactly, does the game end? When a player discovers at the beginning of his turn that he cannot reach any settlement that turn, or only when he discovers that cannot reach any settlements?

The game ends if a player is unable to reach any new settlements on his turn. It does not matter why. If you can’t reach any new settlements, the game is over. Usually, this will happen for one of these reasons:
• You have no more merchant cubes.
• Your opponents have blocked all of the routes to new settlements.
• You have no more of the correct kind of tile.
• You don’t have enough resources to reach any new settlements.

Do I have to pay coins to the bank if I trace my starting path back to a circle with coins on it, or do I only pay if I start on one of those spaces?

When you place the ship, you must be able to trace an unbroken white line to one of the board edges. If there is more than one available path, then you get to choose which path you want to follow (basically, imagine it this way: You board a ship somewhere in the "old world" and sail it towards the "unexplored territory." At some point during your voyage, you reach the "map" that the board represents. From that point you still have to sail towards the part of the map that hasn't been explored yet). If the white path you choose to follow leads to a board edge circle with coins on it, you must pay that cost in order to start the voyage.

Refers to Game:
If I build a fort or a settlement on an island, and another player starts his expedition on that tile, does he have to pay me the 2 coins? Or does he only pay if he traces a path THROUGH the tile?

If you choose to place the ship on a starting tile that has an opponent's settlement or fort on it, then you must pay the "toll" to that player. You also have to pay the toll if the white path you followed to the edge of the board passes by his fort or settlement. If you do not place the ship on such a path at the beginning of your turn, then you don't have to pay the toll. It is important to remember that it does not matter where the ship ends the turn. All that matters is where it begins the turn. In fact, the ship is technically removed at the end of each turn, before the next player begins.

Refers to Game:
If I remove a scout from a jungle path to play on the map, what happens to the space he was in? Does that space remain open? Do the other scouts in the path move to fill the space?

If you remove a scout from a jungle path, it creates an open space. Any player can (through the normal course of play) choose to place a scout in that open space. Other scouts on that jungle path are not affected. They remain in the space that they were in before. Removing a scout may make a "gap" in a jungle path. That's fine. It has no effect. When another scout is added to that path, it will fill the hole (because you must always place your scout on the empty space CLOSEST to the native hut).

Refers to Game:
If I remove a scout from a space with the “eye” or the “dot,” what happens if another scout is placed on one of those spaces?

If the vacated space is an eye space, and another scout is added to that space, then the new scout would get the chance to glance at the token in the hut. If the vacated space is a dot space, then the new scout would not get any benefit, because there can only be one token in each hut.

Refers to Game:
Near game’s end, we often find that there are a few spaces that haven’t been explored, but they are very hard to get to. Should we just fill these in, or do we have to draw the right kind of tile?

If a space is completely surrounded on all four sides, you should fill it with a tile from the open stacks. Similarly, if a series of spaces are completely surrounded by land, then those spaces are filled from the open stacks as well. If there is an unexplored area covering more than one space that has water access on at least one side, you will have to explore those spaces because there will be at least two possible tiles for each space. Sometimes it will be very difficult to draw a legally playable tile to fill those hard to reach areas. Buying an “open” tile can save you a lot of time and effort, and maybe even money!

Refers to Game:

Pages